A Word with Emma Watt

Emma Watt calls herself a Workplace Untangler. She’s one of those rare people who actually enjoys the nitty gritty of industrial relations and workplace disputes and working through them to a happy and fair conclusion. Thank goodness for people like Emma – in more ways than one. She is also an SES volunteer officer. As you can see, when the going gets tough, Emma gets going. She has a lot resting on her capable shoulders, so I thought it would be interesting to see how she does it and what makes her tick.

Emma, how did you get into the work you do? I got interested in industrial relations while I was studying for a Commerce degree, it seemed much more interesting than accounting!

How on earth do you stay on top of your to do list? Um, I’m not sure the premise of the question (that I stay on top of my to do list) is actually correct!

Which tasks do you delegate?  Who to? I delegate bookkeeping and gardening, and this week, painting my kitchen.  I try to delegate keeping my desk tidy to my sister, but that inevitably falls in a heap.  There’s nothing in it for her.

Diary – paper or electronic? Electronic – always with me, able to keep backups, easy to see in different views.

Is there something in your home or office that you do not use, need or love?  Can you share with us why you keep it? My piano – it is damaged and can’t be tuned, but I don’t want to get rid of it and I’m not sure why – maybe I’m waiting until I can afford a piano that I can actually play?

What’s the hardest thing you find about getting/staying organised? Keeping systems going – I have had some awesome systems in the past, and they are looking a bit tatty at the moment.

What’s a favourite organising tool? My labeller!

At the end of a hard day, how do you reward yourself for achievement? Time on the recliner with the dogs & my crocheting.

If you could be or do anything, what would it be? I’m learning to drive a truck for SES – maybe I could be a truck driver, I’ve had job offers already and I don’t even have the licence yet!

What does your ideal weekend look like? Lots of reading / crocheting / DVDs / cups of tea / chocolate.

Got a mid-week time-saving recipe to share with us? Boil up some pasta, stir through a glug of olive oil, a tin of tuna slices, salt, pepper and cheese.   Serve with a salad if you care about that kind of thing 🙂 Yum!

Thank you Emma. I appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule for us.

As you can see, Emma is a can-do woman. If you need her on your side you can contact her through her website.

Leave a Reply

